• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Reaction for M.E. a Space mission

I'm a rocket scientist/engineer with severe M.E.
I've come up with a potential space mission to allow someone with severe M.E. to enter space for a few minutes and glide back safely to Earth.
This can be done safely, and surprisingly cheaply, all thanks to new advances in technology that weren't available 60 years ago during the space race.

See my website: www.reactionforme.org.uk for details.

This mission has been analysed and simulated and will work. The dicotomy of a house-bound M.E. sufferer becoming an astronaut is bound to raise the awareness of M.E. and generate substantial media coverage.

All I need now at the beginning is a bit of coverage, and help to build and test some hardware. I'm based in Scotland.

Regards,

Rick 'the rocketeer' Newlands

Sasha

Fine, thank you
Must admit I think this idea could backfire (no pun intended) in terms of awareness. We need to fight the misperception that PWME just imagine that we can't do things. I think that most people who hold that misperception would see this and think, "Well, if someone with ME can go into space, they can't be that sick."

This project might be a great way to get attention but I'd rather see a healthy person go up on our behalf to raise awareness (and possibly funds) that way.

wastwater

I thought this was a spoof,but the more I read it the more I like it,the one thing I was wondering was,has this been done even with a healthy person.

Hi folks,
Thanks for your deliberations!