• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

What biology etc. book(s) should I read to understand ME research & theories?

Sasha

Fine, thank you
I have zero knowledge of biology and medicine and read most of the science & treatment stuff on the web about ME with only the shallowest of understanding. I'd like to educate myself by reading one or more introductory textbooks in the relevant area. I'm well up on the scientific method, maths & stats, and can remember enough physics & chemistry to get by.

I need some help to even know the name of the biology/medical disciplines I need to be looking at - cell biology? Human biology? Physiology? Immunology? And if anyone can recommend specific basic books that would be a bonus.

The sort of stuff I'd like to undertand includes:

• the methylation stuff that rich talks about
  • the biology involved in the b12 stuff that Freddd talks about
  • the Krebs cycle (heard of it, dunno what it is)
  • viruses
  • the immune system
  • general stuff related to POTS/NMH e.g. on the autonomic nervous system, cardiovascular system
  • anything else you think I need to know to understand what people are on about!

I don't want a degree in this stuff but I would like to go from zero (and I mean zero) biological knowledge to enough to know what people are talking about.

I will be very grateful for any help! :Retro smile:

determined

Yes, understanding this illness is quite the biological undertaking.